Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

This site is archival. Please visit the current MIZZOU magazine site for up-to-date content.

Around the Columns

Complete list of 2010 ROAR Award winners


At the second annual ROARS ceremony May 3, 2010, student-athlete award winners gathered on stage for a final photograph. Photo by Alex Browning

Male “We Are Mizzou” Award – Max Askren (senior, Hartland, Wis., wrestling)
Given to the athlete who best encompasses the MU core values of academic integrity, social responsibility and competitive excellence
Female “We Are Mizzou” Award – Colleen Gordon (senior, Missouri City, Texas, swimming and diving)

Male Athlete of the Year Award – Danario Alexander (senior, Marlin, Texas, football)
Female Athlete of the Year Award – Sarah Shire (senior, Columbia, gymnastics)
Coach of the Year – Rick McGuire (track and field)
Team Performance of the Year – Softball (2009 NCAA Super Regional win over UCLA)
Votes were compiled by mid-March, meaning team performances from spring of 2009 were part of this year’s show. Team performances from spring of 2010 will be considered for the 2011 ROARS show
Male Highlight of the Year Award – Grant Ressel (junior, Jackson, Mo., football)
For game-winning field goal with no time left in 41-39 win over rival Kansas

Female Highlight of the Year Award – Kristin Andrighetto (senior, Pleasant Hill, Calif., soccer)
Male Rookie of the Year Award – Aldon Smith (sophomore, Raytown, Mo., football)
Female Rookie of the Year Award – Paola Ampudia (junior, Cali, Colombia, volleyball)
Varsity M Male Athlete of the Year Award – Andreas Plackis (freshman, St. Charles, Mo., baseball)
Chosen by the Varsity M Association, this award honors the student-athlete who best excels in the categories of both athletics and academics
Varsity M Female Athlete of the Year Award – Kelsey Stokes (junior, Blue Springs, Mo., soccer)
Male “For the Love of the Game” Award – Tim Opfer (sophomore, Higginsville, Mo., track and field)
Awarded to a walk-on student-athlete who makes significant contributions to the team
Female “For the Love of the Game” Award – Katie Nelson (junior, Normal, Ill., track and field)
Male “Unsung Hero” Award – Steve Moore (sophomore, Kansas City, Mo., basketball)
Awarded to the student-athlete who displays outstanding leadership to his or her team in a behind-the-scenes manner
Female “Unsung Hero” Award – Krista Kruse (junior, Fort Collins, Colo., soccer)
Male Courage Award – L’Damian Washington (freshman, Shreveport, La., football)
Given to a student-athlete who has overcome significant adversity to succeed in all areas

Female Courage Award – Julia Potter (senior, Granger, Ind., golf)
Coach’s Academic Enhancement Award – Tim Jamieson (baseball)
Given to the coach who best fosters and supports the mission of the Total Person Program
Team Community Service Award – Men’s Golf
Dr. Judith A. Wells Male Academic Achievement Award – Del Howard (senior, Dallas, football)
Dr. Judith A. Wells Female Academic Achievement Award – Toy Richbow (senior, Detroit, basketball)
Professor of the Year Award – Dr. Barbara McLay (Communications Science & Disorders)
Director of Athletics Leadership Award – Sarah Shire
Award includes a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship to Mizzou
Mizzou Legacy Award – Rick McGuire
Tiger Cup Team Award – Volleyball
Awarded to the team that won the second-annual Tiger Cup Award, a team competition that recognized achievement in academics, in athletics and for community involvement